pre-christmas break
2003-12-17, 8:13 a.m.

Only a few minutes to write, because school is about to start, but I thought I'd update on what's going on in my life. Three more days till Christmas break, and I am way excited. On Friday I will get off work at 3:30, jump in the car, and drive the 3 1/2 hours to Cedar Rapids (my hometown). Then I will get to work out at the Y, which will be heavenly, because there is no good place to work out here in Denison, and my bottom is becoming way too bootielicious. After that, I'll drop off all my laundry at the parents' house, say hello to my family, and go hang out with John, Kelli, and Will. Kelli and Will have, coincidentally, rented an apartment in the same complex as John, and I haven't seen their place yet. We're supposed to rent movies, and I suppose we will drink, given it's WILL and JOHN.

Anyway, I'll have two weeks off for Christmas, and about 50 research papers to grade. It's all good, though, because I let the kids write about anything they wanted, so they're all about interesting things like grunge music and eating disorders (something I know NOTHING about). I'll also have time to plan the Writer's Workshop class I'm teaching next semester. I've got some really great ideas. Last night, I dug up all my old writing textbooks and was going through them, looking for stuff to do. Unfortunately, next semester I have to teach a grammar class as well, which will not be nearly as exciting.

I've got to run tonight! I must do it! I run around the hallways of the high school at night, when there's less people around. 9 times around the building is a mile. My goal tonight will be 3 miles. Tonight I also need to get some grading done and clean my apartment. It seriously stinks because I need to take the trash out. Also have to organize my laundry to go home. Someone said to me that they couldn't understand how teachers could keep their homes clean, with how busy they are, and I replied that they hadn't seen my apartment.

Tomorrow night Wendie wants me to drive to Manilla to pick up my Homemaker's Idea stuff. "Thursday Therapy" will be at her house, but I don't really feel like making the trip. I've got stuff to do before I go to CR! I might just have her mom pick up the stuff for me. BTW, I'm supposed to have a Homemaker's Idea party in January, and it's totally going to suck! I have no place for everyone to sit, and no money or pots or pans to make a nice meal for anyone. I'm just going to buy wine and cheese.

OK, must go monitor the hallways.

last - next



current
archives
profile


email
gbook
notes


links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes


host
design