Phew! It's over!
2004-04-19, 8:12 a.m.

Welcome back, my life! The play is over, and it was a complete success! The kids totally came through during the school performance on Friday, and as we were leaving the auditorium, I actually heard them saying, "Wow! That was good!" and "I wish it was longer..." (probably so they didn't have to go back to class.) The performance Friday night was even better. My parents and sister went that night, and my mom hugged me and said how proud she was. She liked the play even better than when we saw it done by theatre majors at Okoboji a couple of summers ago. My kids got me a corsage to wear to both of the performances. After the performance on Friday, the bf and I met the kids at Ampride to have a snack (ugh breaded mushrooms). On Saturday, I got 2 disappointing phone calls from friends who said they wouldn't be able to make it to the play. I must admit, I was pretty disappointed. Angry, even. I sent out invitations over a month ago, and save-the-date e-mails 3 months ago. Everyone knew how important this was to me... it was sort of a tangible "Here-this is what I've been doing this year" sort of thing. Anyway, on Saturday the bf and I went to work out, went to breakfast at Cronk's (Denver omelet, toast, and hash browns), took care of some details for the play, went on a long hike at Yellow Smoke Park, and made pork chops for dinner. Then I went to go supervise the preparation for the play. The bf, his parents and nephews, my grandparents, my brothers, and one of my friends came that night. The kids did a good job. At the end, they called me up on stage and gave me a gift - a $20 gift certificate at Cronk's. After the play, I had to stay and help the kids strike the set. While we were doing this, 2 of my friends from out of town showed up, apologizing that they were late- one of them has a son who was sick, and they had to make a bunch of stops on the way. I told them to meet me at the bar later, and kept helping the kids clean up. We finally finished cleaning around 10, and I went home, changed, and went out to the bar. We had a bunch of beers and then went back to my place to hang out. It was fun, but I didn't get to bed until about 3, and then woke up before 8 to go meet the bf's parents for brunch at Cronk's. The nephews were excited because one of my actors was at the restaurant, eating with HIS family. After breakfast, everyone went home except the bf. He stayed and watched two episodes of "Freaks and Geeks" with me. I cried when he left, of course. I miss him so much when we're apart. I probably won't see him for a few weeks, as he's moving out of his apartment at the end of April. After he left, I watched more "Freaks and Geeks" (the complete series on DVD was given to me for my birthday), ate Burger King, watched more "Freaks and Geeks," ate the leftover pork chop, watched some stupid high school reunion reality show, and then watched "Six Feet Under" and "The Sopranos." I really should have accomplished more, but I'm going to be back on track today. Two staff members just stopped in to ask me what I'm going to do with my spare time now, and I said I'm going to work on getting back in shape. The bf called after he got home last night and said that his stepbrother just got his second OWI last weekend. He had just broken up with his girlfriend, and wasn't doing very well (he looked horrible at Thanksgiving), but now he's practically suicidal. The bf's parents want the bf to stay with his stepbrother when they go out of town in a couple of weeks, which works well because he won't have a place to live until May 12th. OK, so I haven't weighed myself in a couple of weeks. I am so afraid to. But I will work out and tan tonight, and weigh myself tomorrow a.m. to know where my starting point is. This morning I had a granola bar, banana, and cup of coffee (280 cals). It's time to get obssessed and stay obssessed.

last - next



current
archives
profile


email
gbook
notes


links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes


host
design